Bulk Editing Hosts

How to edit multiple Hosts at once

Selecting Hosts

You can choose to amend a number of hosts at the same time via the checkboxes. The following behaviour is possible:

  • Click on a checkbox to select
  • Click on a selected checkbox to deselect
  • Click on an unselected checkbox to add to selection
  • Shift-click to select a range from the last focused row to the current row, to add to selection
  • Control-click to clear selection and choose this row only

To use the keyboard, use the mouse to select a row in the grid then:

  • Press up/down to highlight rows
  • Press space to select a new row
  • Press space to deselect a row if it is already selected
  • Press shift-up or shift-down to select a range of rows to add to selection
  • Press control-space to clear selection and choose this row only

Note: The All Hosts grid (bottom half of the page) and the Modified Hosts grid (top half of the page) will keep in sync with the selection of hosts.

As selection changes, the total number of hosts will be displayed in the grid header:

300300

The buttons in the top right will update based on the selection:

No selection:

300300

Single selection:

300300

Multiple selection:

300300

The Select All checkbox in the header can be used to select or deselect all hosts matching the current filtering. There will be a slight delay for the checkbox header to update as a backend call will be needed to get a list of all appropriate hosts.

Bulk Edit

You can open the bulk edit window by pressing the edit button:

334334

A subset of the host fields will be available to be changed. Changes will be applied to all the hosts that were selected in the grid.

828828

The fields will be pre-populated with values only if they are exactly the same for all the selected hosts.

When you submit, hosts will be updated in batches of 50 at a time - a progress bar will appear as changes are made.

The following fields can be modified:

Host Group

Changes the Host Group of the selected hosts.

Monitored By

Changes the monitoring cluster these hosts will be monitored by.

Note: This field will be hidden if this is a single server instance.

Note: This field will be disabled if any of the selected hosts are of the following types:

  • The main orchestrator host
  • A host used as a flow source
Host Templates

Changes the Host Templates for the selected hosts. See Multi Options below.

Hashtags

Changes the Hashtags for the selected hosts. See Multi Options below.

Host Icon

Changes the Host Icon for the selected hosts.

Host Description

Changes the Host Description for the selected hosts.

Parents

Changes the Parents for the selected host. See Multi Options below.

Note: To avoid circular parent host definitions, only hosts that are not in the currently selected list of hosts can be chosen.

Host Check Command

Changes the Host Check Command for the selected hosts

Check Period

Changes the Check Period for the selected hosts.

Check Interval

Changes the Check Period for the selected hosts.

Retry Interval

Changes the Host check Retry Interval for the selected hosts.

Note: This value must be higher than the Check Interval for each host. If you set this too high, you may get a "Rollback: Error trying to synchronise object X" message.

Max Check Attempts

Changes the Host check Max Check Attempts for the selected hosts.

Host Check Command

Change the Host Check Command for the selected hosts.

Bulk Delete

This button will be enabled when there are hosts that can be deleted:

334334

Some special hosts are not deletable, such as the Orchestrator, Collectors or Flow Sources - in these cases, these hosts will be ignored.

After confirmation, all selected hosts (minus any special hosts) will be deleted.

Multi Options

All fields, bar Host Templates and Hashtags, are simply replacement actions, i.e. you can choose to enter a new Host Check Command for 10 Hosts, and on 'submit' the Host Check Commands for those Hosts is changed to the Host Check Command specified.

For Host templates and Hashtags, the actions are a little more powerful ' as a Host can have no Host Templates/Hashtags, or alternatively multiple Host templates/Hashtags. Therefore, in the Bulk Edit mechanism for these two fields there are the following options:

  • Add to existing: Choose this option to append a new Hashtag/Host Template to the Hosts.
  • Clear field: Choose this option to remove all Hashtags/Host Templates from the Hosts.
  • Replace with: Choose this option to remove all Hashtags/Host Templates from the Hosts and add the selected Hashtag/Host templates instead. Essentially, this action clears the fields and then adds the selected items.
  • Find and remove: Choose this option to remove the selected Hashtags/Host templates from the selected Hosts. This option is, in essence, a 'selective delete'.