Notification Profiles are a way of configuring when and how (E-mail, SMS, etc) you are notified for specific Hosts, Service Checks, Business Services or more.
With Notification Profiles, you can configure Opsview Monitor to only tell you about important problems, as opposed to every little thing that has been detected. This removes 'alert fatigue' and ensures you are only notified when there is a real problem.
Notification Profiles are configured on a per-User basis, and a User can add as many Notification Profiles as they desire. For example, a User may have two profiles:
- Week days: Alert for anything via email, between 9:00 am-5:00 pm, Monday ' Friday.
- Weekend (on-call): Alert for only items tagged with the hashtag #superimportant, via SMS, between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm, Saturday-Sunday.
Users can only configure a Notification Profile to notify them on objects (Hosts, etc.) that they have access to. This means that if a User cannot view 'Host Group A', then they cannot set up a Notification Profile to be alerted of problems within that Host group.
Notification Profiles are added on a per User basis, and can be accessed via one of two ways. If you are currently logged in and wish to edit your own Notification Profiles, simply click on your Username in the top-right and click on 'My Profile':
Alternatively, you can choose to edit your or other Users Notification Profiles via 'Settings > Users and Roles> Users', via the configuration modal window.
Both of these options will present the window below:
This is the initial 'User' tab which allows for the changing of language and password, enabling of 'Tips' and so forth. From a notification perspective this page is irrelevant. There are two tabs which require our attention: Notifications and Notification Profiles.
The above 'Notifications' tab is where a User should set items used by the various Notification Methods. For example, if you are being notified via email, you will need to add your email address here, similarly if you wish to be notified via SMS or a voice call (Twilio) you will need to enter your phone number in the 'Pager:' field.
The above 'Notification Profiles' tab is where you create the Notification Profiles themselves. By default, there are no Notification Profiles added.
To add a new Notification Profile, click on the 'Add New' button. This will load a new modal window; within which you can determine:
- When you are notified
- How you are notified
- What you are notified for
- Other options regarding Notifications
There are five fields that can be set in general (i.e. outside of the specific tabs). These are:
- Profile Name: A friendly name for the Notification Profile, i.e. 'On-Call'.
- Alert me by: A drop-down list of all the Notification Methods who have the 'Active:' box checked, i.e. Email, Slack, SMS.
- During: A drop-down list of all time periods available within the system, i.e. 'nonworkhours', etc. For more information, see section Time Periods
- Send from alert #: Start sending Notifications from the specified alert number. If the renotification interval is set to 15m, and the value here is set to 4, the Notifications will only be sent after the Service Checks/Hosts have been in a failed state for more than one hour.
- Stop after alert #: Stop sending Notifications once this alert number is reached. For example, if the renotification interval is set to 1h, and this value is set to 3, then Notifications will stop being sent for this profile after three hours. This allows for the creation of escalation paths, i.e. this User has not dealt with the problem after three hours, lets stop alerting them and start alerting their manager (whose profile is set to 'Send from: 4').
Note: When using 'Send from alert' for values above one (escalation alert), there has to be a Notification Profile in place that receives Notifications starting from one in order to increment the counter. One solution for this is to have a Notification Profile that sends Notifications to a /dev/null type of destination.
There are two sections within the 'Hosts/Services' tab. The User must first select the Hosts they wish to be notified for; this can either be left as 'All', or multiple Host Groups can be selected to narrow down the selection. On the left, the states must be chosen.
For example, if you only wanted to be alerted when a Host went 'DOWN' in the Host group 'Linux Servers', you would select:
Next, you can specify for which Service Checks you wish to be notified, and for which states on those Service Checks. For example, if you only wanted to be notified when a Docker Service Check changes to a 'CRITICAL' state, you would select:
These two sections work in combination, meaning if you only wanted to be notified when Hosts within the 'Linux Servers' Host group, have Docker Service Checks changing to a CRITICAL state then you would configure it as below:
You may also unselect everything in the Host Groups and Service Groups dropdowns by <CTRL>-clicking entries to leave a '-', indicating nothing is selected.
Like the 'Hosts/Services' tab, there are two sections. The checkboxes in the 'Hashtags' tab are linked to those in the 'Hosts/Services' tab, meaning if you de-select 'Critical' on one tab it will be reflected on the other.
The Hashtags tab allows you to say:
'If any Host goes DOWN, or if any Service Check goes into a CRITICAL state that is tagged with the hashtag #engineering, then...'.
This is a really simple, easy way to configure Notifications. Simply tag all Service Checks and Hosts with the relevant hashtag, i.e. '#SUPERIMPORTANT', and then within the Notification Profile say:
'If anything tagged with #SUPERIMPORTANT goes DOWN/CRITICAL, send me an email'.
That way if you add further Hosts or Service Checks, simply ensure they are tagged with #SUPERIMPORTANT and they will be notified on if they go DOWN/CRITICAL respectively.
At the bottom of the tab the drop-down allows for the selection of one or more Hashtags.
The BSM tab is independent of the 'Hosts/Services' and 'Hashtags' tabs, and allows you to determine when you are notified and for which Business Services/Components (if you are using BSM).
In the above screen, there are two sections. First, you can choose to be notified when one or more specific Business Services go 'Offline', become 'Impacted', or their Availability drops below a given threshold.
Similarly, you can choose to be notified when one or more Components change to a 'Failed' state, are 'Impacted', or when their Availability drops below a given threshold.
Once you have configured what you want to be notified for, you can choose to enable three further options:
- Include notes in notification: If the Business Service/Component has notes added to it, then you can choose to have these notes included in the email, etc.
- Notify on recovery: If the Business Service/Component returns to an 'Online' status, then you can choose to be notified. This way, if you are looking at your emails you can see the 'DOWN!' email, followed (hopefully) by the "It's back up!" email.
- Re-notify every: These boxes allow you to specify how often you'd like to be notified about a 'failed' component or an 'Offline' Business Service.
Once you have configured the three tabs, simply click on 'Update' and the new personal Notification Profile will be created:
Simply click on 'Submit Changes', and after a reload, your new Notification Profile will be active!
To delete a Notification Profile, simply click on 'Delete' in its contextual menu within the 'Notification Profiles' tab:
Once clicked, you will need to confirm the deletion by clicking on 'OK':
Tthe Notification Profile will be deleted:
Simply 'Reload' and the profile will be removed. If a reload is not completed, then the Notification Profile will remain active even if it is not visible within the 'Notification Profiles' tab.