notifications are triggered within Opsview Monitor
to configure various Notification Methods
to add Notification Methods
to add and configure shared Notification
Profiles and more.
After reading the User Guide, Users should have a good understanding of how to configure and fine tune
notifications within their Opsview Monitor system, so that they are only
notified for specific Hosts, Service Checks and more.
refers to the alerting of Users within Opsview Monitor to inform them of
problems relating to specific Hosts, Service Checks, Hashtags, Business
Services or Components.
As part of a standard Opsview Monitor installation, Users can be notified via one of 11 methods:
These items listed above are known as ‘Notification Methods’ within Opsview, and are the
ways in which Opsview Monitor can notify you of a problem that it has detected.
Naturally, you may
not want to be notified for every little problem or blip detected by Opsview
Monitor; you may not really care if servers are using 100% memory – but you
really want to know as soon as possible when the company website has gone down.
The configuration of what you want to be notified about and what you don’t is
configured within the
can be created at a per User level or at a Role level, i.e. a group of Users.
These Notification Profiles allow you to say ‘I only want to be notified during
9am-5pm, Monday to Friday for issues regarding my website, and I want to be
notified immediately via email and if it is still a problem after two hours, I
want to be notified via SMS’.
Notifications can be
sent for a range of items within Opsview, including:
Service (OFFLINE / IMPACTED / RECOVERY / AVAILABILITY BELOW: )
Hosts and Service
Checks can be grouped based on Hashtags or Host Groups also, allowing you to
If any Host
within the Host Group ‘My Servers’ changes to the state ‘DOWN’, send me an
If any Service
Check tagged with ‘#criticalServices’ changes to the state ‘CRITICAL’, send a
message into the #support channel via Slack’.
Profiles, you can also specify other options including:
Send from: Start sending notifications from the specified alert number. If
the renotification interval is set to 15m, and the value here is set to 4, the Notifications will only be sent after the Service Checks/Hosts have been in a
failed state for more than one hour.
Stop after: Stop sending Notifications once this alert number is reached.
For example, if the renotification interval is set to 1h, and this value is set
to ‘3’, then notifications will stop being sent for this profile after three
hours. This allows for the creation of
i.e. this User has not dealt with the problem after three hours, lets
stop alerting them and start alerting their manager (whose profile is set to
‘Send from: 4’).
Include notes in notification: A BSM specific option, this attaches the
contents of the Business Service or Components ‘Notes’ tab to the Notification,
i.e. within the email.
Re-notify every:A BSM specific option,
allows for the changing of renotification intervals on a Notification Profile
basis for Business Services and Components.
Note: The “Renotification interval” is specified at
the Host level or Service Check level
of the Notification Profile,
and is thus edited via ‘Settings > Host
Settings’ and ‘Settings > Service Checks’ respectively.